[PC Game] Enter the Gungeon

Enter the Gungeon is a bullet hell roguelike video game developed by Dodge Roll and published by Devolver Digital. The game was released worldwide for Microsoft Windows, OS X, Linux, and PlayStation 4 on April 5, 2016, on Xbox One on April 5, 2017, on Nintendo Switch on December 14, 2017, and on Stadia on December 22, 2020.

The game follows four adventurers as they descend into the titular Gungeon (a firearms-themed dungeon) to find a time machine that has the power to kill their past. The game presents procedurally-generated levels to the player, where they fight enemies and acquire new guns and items with unique abilities and effects through their journey.

There is a spin-off, Exit the Gungeon, which uses a platform game-approach instead of the top-down dungeon crawler.

Enter the Gungeon
Enter the Gungeon

Enter the Gungeon is a fast-paced bullet hell shooter with roguelike elements, and is therefore often compared to The Binding of Isaac and Nuclear Throne. The player chooses one of four protagonists named the Marine, Convict, Pilot, and Hunter (more can be unlocked as the game progresses), all of whom have different special abilities, such as calling for support or lockpicking chests. A second player is able to join in for co-op mode and control a fifth character (The Cultist) While the player descends the Gungeon, they are set to go through multiple floors, each with a random number of rooms in it. While the rooms are pre-defined, the constellation of rooms in a floor, the enemies that appear in the rooms, and treasure are procedurally generated. Each room contains a set of enemies, which vary in strength, endurance, and attack behavior, where the attack can range from simple, straightforward shots to a complicated mixture of shots fired at the same time. The player may dodge attacks by performing a dodge roll, which was inspired by the Souls series of video games, and are invulnerable during the action, or alternatively flip tables and use them as covers, although tables can be destroyed if they are shot at. The player has a limited number of “blanks” for each floor that can be used to eliminate all current projectiles and dealing 10 damage to all enemies in that room, certain items add buffs to “blanks”. To defeat enemies, the player must use guns, which can be found in chests, won by defeating bosses, or bought at shops scattered around the floors in the Gungeon. The game features over 300 different guns and items that can be combined to achieve more powerful effects called “Synergies” that were added in the “Advanced Gungeons & Draguns Update”. At the end of each floor, a boss awaits the player; beating the boss grants the player a gun or item and currency to spend at shops and unlocks the next floor.

As the player progresses through multiple playthroughs, they may encounter non-player characters that can be rescued from the Gungeon. Once rescued, these characters take residence at the Breach, a safe level above the Gungeon, and where the player, prior to starting a new playthrough, can spend a type of in-game currency earned from boss fights to permanently unlock special items that will then have a chance of appearing within the Gungeon for all subsequent playthroughs. In the game’s “A Farewell to Arms” update, a new game mode, Rainbow Mode, assures that each level will contain one rainbow colored chest with a collection of guns in it, but the player can only select one gun from those, and no other chests will be offered; this mode was inspired by self-regulated gameplay popularized within the game’s community.

DOWNLOAD: Enter the Gungeon

BACKUP LINK: Enter the Gungeon